When a fire destroyed much of Cape May in 1878, the town’s rebirth led to the creation of the largest collection of Victorian houses on the East Coast. Those homes were celebrated but many fell into disfavor by the mid-19th century. Why go to Cape May when you could find everything at nearby Wildwood?
It was not until the Emlen Physick Estate was threatened with destruction in the early '70s and saved by a group of historic preservation, that Cape May began its journey back to one of American's architectural gems. After forced closure over the past few months, the city's only Victorian house museum, the Emlen Physick Estate at 1048 Washington Street re-opens on July 5. The capacity is limited to five or six (technically 5.5 persons!) on each floor. Guides will wear face shields and guests will wear face masks as part of the tour.
Also open on the Estate grounds is:
Vintage restaurant is open daily for outdoor dining under the patio tent. Brunch and dinner offered daily. Parking is free!
The Carroll Gallery Exhibit, "50 Years of MAC" is open daily 9:30am until 8:30pm. Masks are required for entry into the Carriage House Museum Shop.
A new walking tour, Painted Ladies, Porches & More, continues. Take a walk from the 1879 Emlen Physick Estate to the Washington Street Mall with a knowledgeable guide. Discover the interesting features of various Victorian styles and learn why front porches were so important to Victorian social customs. This tour lasts 45 minutes. Comfortable shoes are recommended. Masks will be required on this tour. Tickets are very limited but may be purchased online.
Trolley Tours should return July 24 on a limited schedule.
Get more tips and info about amusement parks and Jersey Shore attractions, historic sites, entertainment, sports and shopping with the new book, 100 Things to Do at the Jersey Shore available for purchase here.